The MVLE Board of Directors presents the 2019 Annual Meeting Minutes.

MVLE, Inc. Annual Meeting

October 22, 2019


The MVLE Moves performance group opened the 2019 Annual Dinner with a video showcasing our annual Farm to Table dinner.


April welcomed Tamara Vineyard, Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors, who then called the Annual Meeting to order. Vice Chairman Vineyard welcomed attendees and recognized our special guests and thanked the evening’s sponsors. We recognized the Board of Directors and presented the minutes from the 2018 Annual Meeting, a vote was called for, and the minutes were approved. MVLE’s Annual Report was then presented to attendees and briefly reviewed.  Vice Chairman Vineyard presented the slate of officers for the 2019-2020 MVLE Board of Directors and Officers and a vote was taken to approve the new Board of Directors.


April introduced a new Vision Statement for MVLE- “A world in which all individuals are valued and empowered to achieve their greatest potential.” April then welcomed Margot Greenlee, Director of BodyWise Dance, to the stage to introduce the MVLE Moves performance group. The group performed a dance to “Stand in the Light.” April then introduced guest speaker Jenna Gabriel, Manager of Special Education at The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.


Kenan Aden, EVP and COO, and Michelle Lotrecchiano, Sr. Director of Program Services, joined the stage to announce the 2019 President’s Awards. This year’s recipients were Katherine Parfitt, Henry Gonzalez, Darlene Rivenbach and Yoon Chung. April then introduced Beverly Johnson, Sr. Employment Development Specialist, to welcome our next guest speaker, Darlene Rivenbach. Darlene shared an inspiring story of her work and achievements. Jennifer Mitchell joined April on stage to recognize all of our MVLE Individuals.


April introduced Lisa Russell, Sr. Director of Administration, to present the 2019 Community Awards. These awards recognize our partners that are taking action and working with purpose to help grow and impact our community. These are the 2019 awardees: Advocacy Champion Award presented to Sean McGuiness, Hartwood Foundation; Social Responsibility Award- Mt. Vernon Columbus Club, Joey McCracken; Employment Partner Award- ANVIL Systems Group; and Government Partner Award- Defense Acquisition University.


Vice Chairman Vineyard rejoined April on stage to present the Chairman’s Award to Lend-A-Box. Michelle Lotrecchiano and Lisa Russell recognized MVLE staff who have been with the organization for more than ten years.


April thanked our event sponsors and thanked everyone for joining us for the 2019 Annual Dinner Celebration. Tamara and April closed the evening and adjourned the meeting at approximately 9:00 p.m.


Submitted: Karen Roberson, Secretary




For the Board: Michael Smith, Chairperson